Ava DuVernay & The Cast Of Queen Sugar AAFCA Award Winners

Ava DuVernay

Ava DuVernay and Queen Sugar were winners at the 9th annual AAFCA awards gala held at the Taglyan Theater in Los Angeles Wednesday night.

Director, Ava Duvernay received the Innovation Award, and Queen Sugar received the award for Best TV Series Drama.

Embed from Getty Images

Kofi Siriboe, Dondre Whitfield, Dawn Lyen- Gardner, and Omar J. Dorsey.

“Respect the Black Press. My true thanks to the African-American Film Critics Association @aafca for recognizing our work on @queensugarown and @wrinkleintime,” Ava wrote on Instagram.

Embed from Getty Images

Ava was wearing a Greta Constantine dress, Stella Luna heels, with a Jimmy Choo clutch.

Embed from Getty Images

Actress Storm Reid, who stars in the upcoming Disney movie A Wrinkle in Time, also came out to support DuVernay.

Ava DuVernay
Arnold Turner/ AT Archives

Also honored during Wednesday night’s event was Oscar nominated director and screenwriter of GET OUT, Jordan Peele, who received the Horizon Award.  Peele also took home an award for Best Picture, Best Director, and Best Screenplay for GET OUT.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here